Hades Snags the First Hugo Award For a Video Game

December 20, 2021

Hades is a game that has won many awards and accolades, but this latest is quite special. That’s because Hades has won the first Hugo Award for a video game!

If you don’t already know, the Hugo Awards are given by the World Science Fiction Society each year to honor the best works in fantasy and science fiction. Originally, the Hugos focused primarily on the written word, including novels, magazines, and short stories. Over time, the awards expanded to include categories like Best Dramatic Presentation, Best Fancast and Best Fan Artist.

Now, Hugo has given an award for Best Video Game for the first time ever, and the winner is Hades. As great as this roguelite title is, it had some stiff competition in this “one-off” category. That’s because other nominees included major titles such as the Final Fantasy 7 Remake, Spiritfarer, Baseball, The Last of Us: Part 2, and, Animal Crossing: New Horizons.


These recent Hugos have been a tad controversial due to the awards being sponsored by arms company Raytheon. But Hades fans and developers alike are excited that Hades got to make history once more. Supergiant creative director Greg Kasavin expressed regret that he couldn’t be there in person to accept the award:

If you haven’t yet experienced Hades for yourself, the game is now available on PC, PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X/S, and Switch. It is also currently available via Microsoft’s Game Pass.

Category: Game consoles, News, PC




More on Gammicks

Leave a Reply

Wanna be a part of the team?
Press A to join us!