‘Square Enix Presents’ Livestream Reveals New Games and Tomb Raider Celebrations

March 18, 2021

Today’s Square Enix Presents livestream unveiled a selection of new games and also detailed how the publisher intends to celebrate the anniversary of the Tomb Raider franchise.

The first big reveal during the livestream was a fresh trailer for Outriders. The game, which will launch on Xbox Game Pass on April 1, is a co-op third-person shooter from Bulletstorm developer People Can Fly. Square Enix detailed some of the gameplay mechanics and features that players can expect to find in the title.

The deep dive into Outriders was followed up with a lot of Tomb Raider information. This year marks the 25th anniversary of the series and Square Enix is looking to celebrate all things Lara Croft.

Teaming up with Ubisoft, Tomb Raider will get a special crossover event with The Division. The publisher also revealed that Tomb Raider: Definitive Survivor Edition Trilogy is available now on PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. A special cookbook based on the series is also in the works and will launch later this year.

Square Enix also used the event to reveal several mobile titles that are in development. This includes a brand new Just Cause title and Hitman Sniper Assassins. An augmented reality Space Invaders game is also on the way, with players able to sign up and register their interest in playtesting it.

The Marvel’s Avengers next-gen update also officially dropped during the Square Enix Presents livestream. The publisher showed off some footage of Hawkeye in action and also announced that Black Panther is coming to the game later this year as part of the War for Wakanda expansion. The entire 2021 content roadmap for Marvel’s Avengers was also revealed, which can be viewed above.


A trailer for the upcoming Balan Wonderworld, which is due to release on March 26, was also shown during the event. The video was fairly short but did show off the colorful visuals and the kind of atmosphere players can expect from the platformer.

Just before the presentation, a new Life Is Strange game leaked online and was officially confirmed during the event. The latest title will be titled Life Is Strange: True Colors, with an expected release date of September 10 on PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, and Xbox Series X|S. 

The title is being developed by the same team behind Before the Store and includes an empathy mechanic where users can detect other character’s emotions. It will also drop the episodic format of its predecessors, meaning the entire experience will launch at the same time.

The final Life Is Strange reveal was that a remastered collection of the first two games is also coming soon. It will include enhanced visuals and be available to buy as a standalone title, although it will also be included as part of the Deluxe Edition of True Colors.

Square Enix also unveiled that Project Athia has been renamed Forspoken and will launch in 2022 for PC and PlayStation 5. The publisher showed off a sneak peek of the action-adventure game, giving players a glimpse of the in-game world.

Category: Game consoles, News, PC



More on Gammicks

Leave a Reply

Wanna be a part of the team?
Press A to join us!